You are here

Butler County Sheriff

Patrol Division

Captain Jay Sharp

The Butler County Sheriff's Office Patrol Division is overseen by the Patrol Captain, and comprised of approximately 37 State Certified Deputies. They are separated into four (4) crews or shifts. Each crew is led by a shift Lieutenant and is comprised of a shift Sergeant and patrol deputies.

The Patrol Division is a 24-hour, seven day a week operation.  Butler County is the largest county in the State of Kansas (by land area) with 1,472 square miles to patrol, so deputies are constantly on the move.  Due to Butler County's vast diversity, with the eastern half being mostly agricultural and rural and western half of the county being more suburban and commercial, deputies face a constant challenge dealing with differing lifestyles and cases.  Patrol deputies are typically assigned a geographically sub-divided district as their primary area of responsibility for each shift they work, but they also must remain flexible to respond as needed.  Additional deputies provide full-time service to some of the cities in the county as the primary responsibility as well.  Together, thousands of incidents and calls for service are handled a year.

Patrol deputy duties are as diverse as the public they serve. Duties include traffic enforcement, motor vehicle accident reporting, initial criminal case reporting, domestic violence, civil disputes, and reports of stray animals to name a few.  As with other divisions, some deputies from the Patrol Division help to make up the departmental SWAT Team (Special Weapons and Tactics).

Court Security          Civil Process